Sponsored by the Creative Arts Division

Special Acknowledgments

Kristin Skager, Interim Dean of Creative Arts
Sam Bliss, Associate Vice President, Instruction
Marisa Spatafore, Associate Vice President, Communications & External Relations
Lydia Hearn, Interim Vice President, Instruction
Ram Subramaniam, Vice President, Instruction
Rob Mieso, Vice President, Student Services
Christina G. Espinosa-Pieb, Interim President of De Anza College (Emerita)
Omar Torres, President of De Anza College
Lee D. Lambert, Chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza College District

Foothill-De Anza Community College District Board of Trustees:

Laura Casas, Alexander Gvatua, Peter Landsberger, Pearl Cheng, Terry Godfrey Iris Li (De Anza Student Trustee), Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee)

Foothill-De Anza Foundation Staff:

Dennis Cima, Robin Latta, Leigh Howell, Melanie Reilly, Lindsay West, Kathy Nguyen, Victoria Dinh

Film/TV Department Faculty

Milena Grozeva Levy, Mark Hamer, Joshua Losben, Rachel Silveria, Susan Tavernetti (Emerita)

Part-time Faculty

Kristen Anderson, Genevieve Freckelton, Thomas Gamburg, Warren Haack, Dennis Irwin, Alexandra Lacey, Michael Parks, Cole Quirk, Ingrid Schultz, Drew Todd, John Wise, Christina Wright

Staff

Edward Breault (Video Systems Engineer), André Meggerson, Fernando Perez De La Rosa, Brad Meyer

Program Design

Dennis Irwin (Cover Art), Mark Hamer (Program Layout)

Office of Communications

Brandon Bailey, Edwin Carungay, Juan Diaz, Jonathan Guillen, Alex Harrell, Steven Nguyen, Marisa Spatafore, Chelsey Taniguchi

Special Thanks

Nancy and Al Okamoto, Linda and Dennis Conroy

De Anza College Film/TV Department & the Creative Arts Division present



The 46th Annual Student Film & Video Show

June 6, 2025

18th ANNUAL SCREENPLAY COMPETITION

Below are the finalists for the 18th Annual Screenplay Competition (listed in alphabetical order). The winner is selected by Film/TV Faculty and will be annunced the night of the show.

Allison Crick

Mathew Herrera

Kavi Kumaresen J.

Wei Long

Kevin Patterson

We Don't Fish

Jacksonville Abductions

Vepathutan Kaathal

Café Momus

Hellish Roommates

STUDENT ACHIEVEMENTS 2024 - 2025

Internships: Joelle Drake (KCAT.org), Nathan Tucker & Frank Dunn (City of Cupertino), Miles Urbano, Susana Valencia, Alfonso Jimenexz, & Tommy Yi (The PixelMakers), Kristian Crowther (Spinach Video), Joshua Hascall (NASA Ames & MidePen Media Center), Li Yung (Leo) Chuang, Acey Nickel, Frank Dunn, Meenu Goswami, & Anandan Pillai (Golden Gate Intl Film Festival)

Cinequest Film Festival Official Selection: A Dancer's Story (March 2025) - Bardia Samia

Animation Show of Shows, April 17 2025 - Students attended a screening of award-winning animated shorts, followed by a Q&A with the show's curator.

Some material may be inappropriate for viewers under 17 years of age due to profanity, violence and disturbing content. As a courtesy to all patrons and performers please turn off all electronic devices.

Please consider giving a donation to support the Chadwick Okamoto Awards.

Gifts are tax deductible and will directly support students in the Film/TV Department programs at De Anza College.

Go to https://secure.donationpay.org/fhda/ to make a gift via the secure website.

Designate "De Anza" and "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award"

OR

Print Gift Form and attach check payable to "FHDA Foundation." Please indicate "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award" at "De Anza" on Gift Form and memo line of check.

Mail to: FHDA Foundation, 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022

Thank you!

STUDENT SHORTS PROGRAM

Metamorphosis	Animation Students	FTV 67A Principles of Animation	1:37
For Juliet	Kevin Patterson, Alina Campbell	FTV 44A 16mm/35mm Film Prod.	7:25
The Deal	Diana Paola Gutierrez	FTV 22 Beg. 16mm Film Prod.	2:12
Lollipop	Nika Arasteh	FTV 31 Audio Post-Production	2:35
Out of the Sun	Valerie Mireles	FTV 26 Intro to Film/TV Directing	5:30
The Wall	Andrew Hargraves	FTV 22 Beg. 16mm Film Prod.	2:54
Leaky People	Olena Kovtash	FTV 72H Animated Film Workshop	1:41
Remnants	Nika Arasteh	FTV 26 Intro to Film/TV Directing	8:19
Catermorphosis	Sandy Chow	FTV 66A Stop Motion Animation	:53
The Last Trace of Ink	Jinglong Wang	FTV 22 Beg. 16mm Film Prod.	4:14
Kev's Discount Home Safety	Kevin Patterson	FTV 29 Lighting for Film & TV	3:13
The Hand that Feeds	Miranda Carlberg	FTV 66A Stop Motion Animation	1:21
Obscura	Hal Wong	FTV 26 Intro to Film/TV Directing	4:38
Pierdete en el Limbo	Ji Won Jung	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	6:25
Ka-ching!	Shannon Silva	FTV 22 Beg. 16mm Film Prod.	4:01
The Flower Lady	Grégoire Martineau	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	7:16
Shelter	Dennis Tin Nguyen	FTV 72J Animated Film Workshop	1:57
Bounty Claimed	Isaiah Arcila	FTV 66A Stop Motion Animation	1:25
My Mark	Kevin Patterson	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	7:19
Норе	Animation Students	FTV 67A Principles of Animation	1:22
Rosie	Veronica Lourdes Becerra-Santiago	FTV 44A 16mm/35mm Film Prod.	9:50
Beyond the Screen	Steven Arguijo	FTV 72J Animated Film Workshop	5:58
The Fruit at the Bottom	Anna Graber	FTV 20 Beg. Video Prod.	1:42
Midnight through the Woods	Andrés Tetla	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	8:38
Zoom	Jesse Supetran	FTV 72J Animated Film Workshop	4:01
To Make a Difference	Mason Travis Reeves	FTV 72J Animated Film Workshop	2:21
Vincent	Chase Thompson	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	10:00
8 Days a Week	Moeka Ishizawa, Annacela Cordova	FTV 39 Int. Digital Film/Video Prod.	2:02